DACA, Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals

Posted by Audi Flemmings | Feb 02, 2021


What is DACA?

The Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals, or more commonly known as DACA, was introduced in 2012 by President Barack Obama to protect undocumented persons in the country who faced deportation.

Under this program, the United States government uses its discretion to defer removal action against an individual for a certain time. Therefore, certain people who came to the United States as children and did not have citizenship or legal residency status could request consideration of deferred action for two years and is renewable. This protection is not law and does provide lawful citizenship or status. This means persons could face deportation if DACA is terminated. The Trump administration tried to end the program, but in June 2020, the Supreme Court ruled that his attempt to repeal the program was unlawful. Recently, President Joe Biden revoked several of Trump's anti-immigration policies including the restrictions placed on DACA. He signed a memorandum directing the Secretary of Homeland Security to take actions aimed at “preserving and fortifying” the DACA program.

What Benefits Does DACA Offer?

Several benefits come with the program including, but not limited to receiving work permits, driver's license, social security, and health insurance.

How do I Qualify for DACA?

In order to qualify for DACA, the following requirements must be met, you must:

  1. Be under the age of 31 as of June 15, 2012;
  2. Have entered the United States before reaching your 16th birthday;
  3. Have continuously resided in the United States since June 15, 2007, up to the present time;
  4. Have been physically present in the United States on June 15, 2012, and at the time of the request for consideration under DACA;
  5. Have had no lawful status on June 15, 2012;
  6. Have currently been in school, graduated or obtained a certificate of completion from a high school, or have obtained a GED, or honorably discharged veteran of the Coast Guard or Armed Forces of the United States and;
  7. Have not been convicted of a felony, significant misdemeanor, or three or more misdemeanors, and do not otherwise pose a threat to national security or public safety.

How do I Apply for DACA?

If the above requirements are met, you will need to complete a request for DACA by submitting the applicable forms, filing fees and supporting documents to USCIS.

If you are interested in learning if you qualify for DACA, schedule a consultation today at (718) 489-9559 or by visiting our website at aflawgroup.com.

About the Author

Audi Flemmings

Ms. Flemmings has a personal connection and scrupulous awareness for the plight of Immigrants in America. This intimate relationship and understanding of the U.S. immigration process distinguishes Ms. Flemmings from other Immigration Attorneys. Your story is her story.

[LAW FIRM NAME] Is Here for You

At [LAW FIRM NAME], we/] [I] focus on [PRACTICE AREA(s)] and [we/I] [am/are] here to listen to you and help you navigate the legal system.

Quality Legal Representation

Services are available in English, Spanish and Haitian Creole.

Audi Flemmings, P.A.
716 Autumn Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11208
Audi Flemmings, P.A. Florida Office
950 S Pine Island Road
Plantation, FL 33324